
SOUTH CAROLINA BUDGET AND CONTROL BOARD 
GENERAL SERVICES DIVISION 
STATE FLEET MANAGEMENT 

 
STANDARD STATE-OWNED VEHICLE LEASE AGREEMENT 

 
This Agreement, made this ___ day of ____________ between the South Carolina Budget and Control Board, 
General Services Division, State Fleet Management Section hereinafter known as Lessor, and 
___________________________, a State Agency or local government agency of the State of South Carolina 
hereinafter known as Lessee,  Lessor hereby leases to Lessee the State-owned vehicles described in Appendix 
D, for use in the conduct of official government business, subject to the following terms and conditions. 
 
1. TERM OF LEASE - The term of this Agreement shall commence on the date of acceptance by Lessee and 

shall continue until terminated by either party as provided in Appendices A and B.  The initial term of this 
Agreement must be for a period of at least  twelve (12)  months, from the date of acceptance by Lessee. 

 
2. LEASE RATES – Lease rates and the effective date thereof shown in Appendix C shall be adjusted 

annually, subsequent to the award of State Term Contracts for vehicles as awarded by the Materials 
Management Office.   Revised rates will normally be published by Lessor during the second quarter of each 
fiscal year and shall become effective beginning the first billable day of the third quarter of each fiscal year.  
Lessee agrees to pay Lessor the amounts resulting from the Lease Fee Schedule in Appendix C as revised 
annually.  The payments shall be as specified in Appendix B. 

 
3. FUEL SURCHARGE – The vehicle mileage rate is established using $2.25 as the price per gallon of 

gasoline. The price of gasoline will be monitored by State Fleet Management. In the event the price of 
gasoline increases by at least 10% and remains for a continuous three month period, the mileage rate will 
increase 1 cent per mile per 10%  increase. 
If the price of gasoline decreases at least 10% and remains for a continuous three month period State Fleet 
Management  will decrease the mileage rate 1 cent per mile per 10% decrease. 

 
4. VEHICLES LEASED (APPENDIX D) – The list of vehicles leased referenced as Appendix D shall be 

maintained electronically within the South Carolina Equipment Management Information System 
(SCEMIS) and shall be adjusted therein as needed.  Lessee shall be provided a current copy of Appendix D 
annually for the purpose of reconciliation and vehicle replacement or retention confirmation.  Lessee shall 
sign and return a copy of this Appendix to Lessor.   This shall constitute a renewal of this agreement. 

 
5. MINIMUM CHARGES – Lessee will be charged the monthly flat rate as indicated in Appendix C, and for 

the actual miles used each month.  
 

6. TITLE:  The vehicles shall at all times remain the property of Lessor, and Lessee shall have no right, title, 
or equity interest therein except as expressly set forth in this Agreement. 

 
7. GOVERNING LAW - This Agreement shall be governed in all respects by the laws of the State of South 

Carolina. 
 
8. DEFAULT - Upon the failure of Lessee to make any payment when due, or upon the failure of Lessee to 

perform any other obligation imposed upon it by this Agreement and upon the continuance of such failure 
for 10 days after the mailing of written notice thereof by Lessor pursuant to paragraph 10, Lessee shall be 
deemed to be in default and Lessor shall have the right to terminate this Agreement.  Upon the failure of 
Lessor to perform any obligation imposed upon it by this Agreement, and upon the continuance of such 
failure for 10 days after the mailing of written notice thereof by Lessee pursuant to paragraph 10, Lessor 
shall be deemed to be in default and Lessee shall have the right to terminate this agreement. 

 



9. TERMINATION AND REMEDIES - This Agreement may be terminated as provided in paragraph 8 or in 
Appendices A and B.  Upon the termination of this Agreement, Lessee shall remit all sums due to Lessor 
within sixty days of such termination. 

 
10. NOTICES - All notices and other communications made or required to be given under this Agreement shall 

be made in writing and mailed to the other party at its address as set forth herein or at such address as the 
party may provide from time to time. 

 
11. OBLIGATIONS:  Parties agree to the terms of this agreement including Appendices A through D. 

 
 

Lessor’s Address:  South Carolina Budget and Control Board 
     State Fleet Management 

         1026 Sumter Street, 2nd Floor_______________ 
         Columbia, South Carolina  29201-3746 _________ 
 

 Lessee’s Address:  ______________________________   
    ______________________________ 
    ______________________________ 
 
12. ENTIRE AGREEMENT - This Agreement and attached Appendices constitute the entire Agreement 

between the parties and may not be amended, altered, or changed except after approval from the General 
Services Division, State Fleet Management and by a written agreement signed by the parties, however the 
vehicles covered by this agreement and shown on Appendix D may be adjusted as needed upon mutual 
agreement by the parties.  Such an adjustment of Appendix D will not alter any other portion or requirement 
of this agreement.  Lessor reserves the right to promulgate new, or amend existing State statutes, 
regulations, policies and procedures concerning the operation of State vehicles without the consent of 
Lessee. 

 
         ACCEPTED AND EXECUTED THE DATE STATED ABOVE 
 
      LESSOR: 
      BY:_____________________________________ 
               Warren J. McCormack 
      ITS:  State Fleet Manager___________________ 
 
      LESSEE:   
      BY:_____________________________________ 
      ITS:  ____________________________________ 
  
APPENDICES:  

 
  A.  Obligations of Lessor 
  B.  Obligations of Lessee 

C. Lease Fee Schedule 
D. Vehicles Leased 
E. Vehicle Replacement Criteria 



APPENDIX A 
 

SOUTH CAROLINA BUDGET AND CONTROL BOARD 
GENERAL SERVICES DIVISION 

STATE FLEET MANAGEMENT 
 

Obligations of Lessor 
 
 Provide Lessee the vehicles shown in Appendix D, at the lease rates shown in Appendix C. 
 Pay all costs associated with ownership and operation of said vehicles, exclusive of those further indicated 

in Appendix B.   
 Carry the standard state liability insurance on each leased vehicle.   
 Replace each vehicle at the end of its life cycle with a new vehicle or a serviceable used vehicle of the same 

class that is still within designated life cycle (Appendix D) unless both parties agree to one of the following: 
 
a.) Lessee chooses to have the vehicle replaced with a vehicle of a different class.  In such instance any 

change in class or application shall require the submission of appropriate justification from Lessee, and 
approval by the State Fleet Manager. 

b.) Lessee chooses not to have the vehicle replaced and to terminate the lease on that particular vehicle.  In 
such instance Appendix D shall be adjusted accordingly. 

 
 Lessor reserves the right to periodically adjust its Vehicle Life Cycles (Appendix C). 
 Maintain each vehicle in a safe and serviceable condition.  Lessor reserves the right not to make repairs 

when, in the sole discretion of the Lessor, these repairs are not in the best interest of the State. 
 In the event it becomes uneconomical to repair a vehicle due to unforeseen circumstances, Lessor agrees to 

provide a temporary replacement vehicle to Lessee as soon as may be practicable.  Such replacement 
vehicle may be of a different type than the original vehicle and may be in used condition.  As soon as 
practicable, Lessor will replace temporarily issued vehicles with a new vehicle or a serviceable used vehicle 
of the same class that is still within designated life cycle (Appendix C). 

 Credit Lessee for one day’s lease fee (motor pool rate) for each day exceeding the initial three work days 
(exclusive of weekends and holidays) that a vehicle is in a state or commercial repair facility, and not ready 
for use.  Initial three days includes the day the vehicle was turned in to the repair facility.  Lessor shall not  
be responsible for any charges or expenses ( i.e. operator lodging, meals, travel, replacement vehicle rental, 
etc.) resulting from the failure of a vehicle to perform, unless those expenses are pre-approved by Lessor.  

 Provide Lessee an invoice for lease fees for each vehicle leased during the billing cycle, to the office 
designated by Lessee, not later than the 20th day of the month following the billing cycle.   

 Provide Lessee 30 calendar days written notice of Lessor’s desire to terminate this agreement.



APPENDIX B 
 

SOUTH CAROLINA BUDGET AND CONTROL BOARD 
GENERAL SERVICES DIVISION 

STATE FLEET MANAGEMENT 
 

Obligations of Lessee 
 
 Abide by all State statues, regulations, policies and procedures concerning the operation of State-owned 

vehicles. 
 Provide Lessor appropriate written justification for additional vehicles which Lessee desires to lease as far 

as possible in advance of the date vehicles are needed. 
 Not assign custody of leased vehicles nor sublet vehicles to other parties without the express written consent 

of Lessor. 
 Pay Lessor’s monthly lease invoices within sixty  (60) calendar days of the invoice date. 
 Pay Lessor a late fee of 1% per month for each invoice  which is not paid by the due date (see above). 
 At the expiration of this lease, or upon demand of Lessor (See Default Section on Main Agreement), Lessee 

shall return vehicle in good working condition, reasonable wear and tear excepted, to such location 
designated by Lessor. 

 Abide by Lessor’s policies concerning authorized credit card purchases and vehicle maintenance 
procedures.  Lessee agrees to reimburse Lessor for any unauthorized fuel credit card purchases of products 
or services, or for the cost of damages resulting from the use of the improper type of fuel or other fluids in 
vehicles. 

 Remit to Lessor any charges assessed by Lessor’s Accident Review Board’s review of accidents. 
 Pay Lessor all costs and expenses, including reasonable attorney’s fees, and other expenses incurred by 

Lessor in enforcing any terms, conditions, or provisions of this agreement, whether incurred before or after 
judgment. 

 Ensure all drivers of leased vehicles are informed of all statutes, regulations, policies, and procedures 
governing the operation of State vehicles. 

 Use leased vehicles in a careful and proper manner and only for their intended use.  Lessee shall not be 
responsible for reasonable wear and tear from this use, however Lessor reserves the right to charge Lessee 
for excessive wear and tear or any damage or deterioration resulting from operator abuse or negligence on 
vehicles. 

 Not alter leased vehicles in any manner without the express written consent of Lessor.  Wherein Lessor 
grants such consent, all costs of any such alterations shall be borne by Lessee. 

 Allow Lessor, upon reasonable prior notice and during Lessee’s normal working hours, to inspect the 
vehicles and observe their use. 

 Provide Lessor thirty (30) calendar days written notice of Lessee’s desire to terminate this agreement.  If 
Lessee fails to comply with this provision, Lessor may charge Lessee one month’s lease fee for each vehicle 
to be returned. 



  Long-term Lease Rates
      2009 Model Year

Standard Special Use

Vehicle Class Monthly Rate Mileage Rate Monthly Rate Mileage Rate

  Compact Sedan 290$           0.13$          * *

  Intermediate Sedan 340$           0.17$          * *

  Intermediate Police Sedan 461$           0.20$          * *

  Full Size Police Sedan 529$           0.22$          * *

  Compact Station Wagon 320$           0.15$          * *

  Minivan 399$           0.16$          * *

  Mini Cargo Van 244$           0.20$          197$           0.20$          

  15 Passenger Van 327$           0.22$          231$           0.22$          

  ½-ton Cargo Van 223$           0.25$          181$           0.25$          

  Compact Utility 4x4 348$           0.20$          * *

  Intermediate Utility 4x2 397$           0.19$          * *

  Intermediate Utility 4x4 459$           0.20$          * *

  Full Size Utility 4x2, 4x4 389$           0.26$          273$           0.26$          

  Compact Pickup 211$           0.18$          150$           0.18$          

  ½-ton Pickup 4x2 317$           0.20$          196$           0.20$          

  ½-ton Pickup 4x4 334$           0.22$          236$           0.25$          

  ¾-ton Pickup 4x2 266$           0.24$          203$           0.24$          

  ¾-ton Pickup 4x4 346$           0.27$          244$           0.27$          

  High Cube Van <12,000 GVW § § * *

  Handicap Van 524$           0.39$          * *

  Mini Bus 446$           0.33$          * *

  NOTE: The mileage rates above reflect a decrease of $0.01 effective 04-26-2009.

  Base rates may vary slightly from the prices above because it is calculated from actual cost. 

  *   SFM does not offer these types of vehicles on the Special Use Rate. 

  §   Contact State Fleet for a price quote on these types of vehicles. 



APPENDIX D 
 

SOUTH CAROLINA BUDGET AND CONTROL BOARD 
GENERAL SERVICES DIVISION 

STATE FLEET MANAGEMENT 
 

VEHICLES LEASED 
_____ ________ 

 
The attached list of leased vehicles is current as of  

 
                          

 
 



It is the intent and policy of the Budget
and Control Board that the State achieve
the maximum return on investment in its
motor vehicle fleet. The table shows dis-
posal criteria for the various classes and
sizes of state vehicles. These criteria are
established as minimums only. Agencies
may continue to operate vehicles past these
minimums as long as they are determined
to be safe and cost effective to operate.

Appendix E:

Vehicle Replacement Criteria
Revised 1 January 2006

Vehicle Type Replacement Cycle, in Months Miles

Sedan, Compact 84 100,000

Sedan, Mid-size 84 110,000

Sedan, Full-size 72 125,000

Sedan, Executive 72 125,000

Sedan, Police 48 125,000

Station Wagon, Mid-size 84 125,000

Van, Mini, Passenger 84 125,000

Van, Window, 250 Reg., 12 Pass 96 150,000

Van, Window, 350 Extended, 15 Pass 96 150,000

Van Handicapped 120 150,000

Van, Mini, Cargo 120 125,000

Van, Cargo, 2500 >8500 120 150,000

Utility, Mid-size, 4x2 84 125,000

Utility, Mid-size, 4x4 84 125,000

Utility, Full-size, 4x2 84 150,000

Utility, Full-size, 4x4 84 150,000

Pickup 2500 >8500, 4x4 84 150,000

Pickup, Compact, 4x2 96 125,000

Pickup, 1500 <8500, 4x2 120 150,000

Pickup, 2500 >8500, 4x2 120 150,000

Hi-Cube Van, 30,000 GVWR & Below 120 150,000

Bus, other Front Engine 120 150,000

Bus, Handicap 120 150,000

Bus, School, Mini 120 150,000

Vehicles may be identified for disposal
before the minimum criteria have been met
when the cost of repairs shall be determined
to be non-cost effective, or if a vehicle is
declared excess to the needs of the State.

Non-compliance with these criteria may
be cause for disapproval of requests to ac-
quire replacement vehicles without addi-
tional justification. The criteria for non pas-

senger-carrying vehicles and buses are rec-
ommended minimum guidelines, and agen-
cies may apply their own criteria for these
classes. However, if other criteria not meet-
ing these minimums are used, agencies shall
forward a copy of such, including justifica-
tions, to SFM for approval.


